Funk 'n Waffles -- Eat Up, Get Down.

Syracuse Ska Forum

Discussing ska & reggae in Upstate New York
It is currently Mon May 20, 2024 3:55 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Aquabats 07/01/2005 -- B.B King Blues Club & Grill, NY,
PostPosted: Sun Aug 07, 2005 3:11 pm 
New Kid

I've known Danny since I went to Syracuse University (I think '97...whoa), and he just sent me a link to this forum. I thought I'd try and contribute.

-----

The Aquabats, July 1, 2005, B.B. King Blues Club & Grill, New York, NY

Opening acts: The Epoxies, The Phenomenauts

Price: $13

This was the first show I had been to since I was a student at Syracuse in 2001. After graduation, pretty much every band I loved broke up (Skavoovie, the Pilfers, the Articles, etc.), and I was finding it difficult to follow the scene in New York (there are no people in NYC as dedicated as Danny when it comes to promoting ska shows).

Anyway, my girl and I decided we needed to see a show, so I bought tickets to the Aquabats after reading about their last U.S. tour this year before heading to Europe.

As pretty much all New Yorkers do, we were fashionably late to the show, completely missing the Phenomenauts. As a rule, I typically try and miss opening bands, although in retrospect, I probably missed some good DLO or Short Round shows that way.

We got there in time for the Epoxies, and they put on a good set. If you're not familiar with them, they play up tempo pop-punk, and are good showmen. They were on strict time limit, and were allowed no encores. Essentially, after their last song, they were booted off stage.

Because B.B. King's place is highly commercialized and corporate-oriented, they moved things right along. The Aquabats were on stage no less than twenty minutes after the Epoxies played their last note.